Council

Monday, 2nd June, 2014 3.00 - 3.07 pm

Simon Wheeler (Chair), Wendy Flynn, Duncan Smith (Vice-Chair), Andrew Chard, Garth Barnes, Nigel Britter, Chris Coleman, Jacky Fletcher, Colin Hay, Penny Hall, Tim Harman, Rowena Hay, Sandra Holliday, Peter Jeffries, Steve Jordan, Andrew Lansley, Helena McCloskey, Andrew McKinlay, David Prince, John Rawson, Anne Regar Rob Reid, Chris Ryder, Diggory Seacome, Malcolm Stennet Klara Sudbury, Pat Thornton, Jon Walklett, Andrew Wall, Roger Whyborn, Suzanne Williams, Matt Babbage, Flo Cluc Chris Mason, Dan Murch, John Payne and Max Wilkinson	,

Minutes

1. APOLOGIES

Apologies were received from Councillor Fisher, Lillywhite, Nelson and Wall.

2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest.

3. HONORARY ALDERMEN

The Chief Executive introduced the report and explained that pursuant to Section 249 (1) of the Local Government Act 1972 Council may confer the title of Honorary Alderman on persons who it considers have rendered eminent services to the Authority in their past roles as councillors. Historically, Council has conferred the title of Honorary Alderman upon its past members in recognition of both long service (16 years or more) or as a past Mayor and Chairman of the Council.

He advised that the following former Councillors had been nominated by the Group Leaders: Rob Garnham, Les Godwin and Paul McLain.

Upon a vote it was unanimously

RESOLVED that in recognition of the eminent services as members of Cheltenham Borough Council and Pursuant Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, Rob Garnham, Les Godwin and Paul McLain be elected Honorary Aldermen of the Borough of Cheltenham.

Simon Wheeler Chair